Frequently asked questions (FAQs) contain relevant information that may provide an answer to your query.

Why does Ricola use the artificial sweetener aspartame in its sugar-free products?

Aspartame is used as a sweetener on account of its rounded flavour and because it does not damage the teeth.

We are convinced that aspartame is not harmful to your health. We refer to specialist reports and recommendations compiled by internationally recognized expert committees. Aspartame is an extremely well researched sweetener, as it is used in many products worldwide. Independent international organizations such as the FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) and the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) have tested the safety of aspartame and confirm that this product is safe for human consumption.

We naturally also aim to develop and use natural, calorie-reducing sweeteners that are good for the teeth. For example, we have recently launched sugar-free herbal sweets with Steviol glycosides (sweetened with Stevia) in France, Italy and Germany.

Ricola's range includes products with sugar and without. Otherwise, as an alternative we also recommend our herbal sweets with sugar such as our Ricola Original Herb Sweets which contain no aspartame. 

top of the page

Do all the herbs conform to the Bio Suisse standards?

The herbs for Ricola products are cultivated using natural methods. This means no herbicides, insecticides, fungicides or chemical fertilizers are used. However, not all Ricola herb farmers have Bio Suisse certification. To meet the strict Bio Suisse guidelines, a farm must use organic methods in all areas (cereals, fruit production, animal husbandry, etc.) More than two thirds of Ricola herb farmers already meet the Bio Suisse requirements.

top of the page

I am a vegan. Can I eat Ricola products?

Some of our products are not suitable for vegans as they contain honey. This is always listed in the ingredients on the packaging. For products without honey, we do not use any animal derived ingredients. While our suppliers guarantee that their finished products do not contain any residues of animal derived ingredients, they cannot guarantee that their process is completely free of animal derived processing aids. This due to issues of confidentially.

top of the page

I am a Vegetarian. Can I consume Ricola products?

Ricola herb specialties are generally suitable for vegetarians. Some of our products contain substances that are not suitable for all categories of vegetarianism. The list of ingredients on the pack contains full details of all substances.

top of the page

I am using homeopathic remedies. Which Ricola products am I allowed to consume?

All our products use the proven Ricola blend of 13 herbs and contain essential oils as natural flavourings. Homeopathic doctors state that intensive aromas and flavours (e.g. essential oils) will inhibit the effect of homeopathic remedies. Therefore, Ricola herb products should not be enjoyed immediately before or after taking homeopathic remedies.

top of the page

Are Ricola products gluten free?

All Ricola products are considered gluten free under the Codex Standard and are therefore suited for persons with gluten intolerance.

top of the page

Are Ricola products lactose-free?

All Ricola products are considered lactose-free under the Swiss Foodstuff Ordinance and are suitable for persons with lactose intolerance.

top of the page

Can I order products directly from Ricola?

We have no direct sales or factory sales outlets open to individuals for retail purposes. Our Ricola herb products are only available to purchase through our recognized sales partners.

Our sales partners only sell products to the wholesale trade in the relevant country and have no direct retail outlets.

top of the page

I am looking for potential sponsors. Can Ricola offer me support?

Our advertising strategy is restricted to our activities primarily through TV advertising, radio, posters, the Internet, etc. Therefore, we only agree sponsoring commitments that are 100% in keeping with our brand values and are part of a fixed budget. The only exceptions are associations and events located in the vicinity of our company headquarters in Laufen (BL).

top of the page

I am organizing an event. Can Ricola provide herbal sweets and/or advertising materials?

Due to the overwhelming number of requests we receive in connection with tombolas, club events, private celebrations, etc., unfortunately it is not possible for us to provide free samples and/or advertising materials for every occasion.

top of the page

Why do Ricola herbal sweets sometimes change colour after the pack is opened? Can I still eat them?

Ricola herbal sweets are sensitive to moisture. If they are incorrectly stored, or after the pack is opened, moisture can cause the drops to crystallize on the surface. This is indicated by a milky or dull colour. Heavy crystallization changes the surface significantly and may cause cracks to appear. This is accompanied by an almost complete loss of flavour. Ricola herbal sweets that appear milky or dull can still be enjoyed until the "best-before" date. We recommend storing Ricola products in a cool, dry place (not in the refrigerator) and consuming the herbal sweets soon after the pack is opened.

top of the page

Can I enjoy Ricola while pregnant or breastfeeding?

In principle, Ricola products are safe during pregnancy and while breastfeeding. For reasons of precaution regarding individual sensitivities or allergies, we advise you to consult your doctor before taking our products. The ingredients list you will find on the pack.

top of the page