Frequently asked questions (FAQs) contain relevant information that may provide an answer to your query.
Aspartame is used as a sweetener on account of its rounded flavor and because it does not damage the teeth.
We are convinced that aspartame is not harmful to your health. We refer to specialist reports and recommendations compiled by internationally recognized expert committees. Aspartame is an extremely well researched sweetener, as it is used in many products worldwide. Independent international organizations such as the FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) and the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) have tested the safety of aspartame and confirm that this product is safe for human consumption.
We naturally also aim to develop and use natural, calorie-reducing sweeteners that are good for the teeth. For example, we have recently launched sugar-free herb drops with Steviol glycosides (sweetened with Stevia) in France, Italy and Germany.
Ricola's range includes products with sugar and without. Otherwise, as an alternative we also recommend our herb drops with sugar such as our Ricola Original Herb Drops which contain no aspartame.
top of the page
Some of our products are not suitable for vegans as they contain honey. This is always listed in the ingredients on the packaging. For products without honey, we do not use any animal derived ingredients. While our suppliers guarantee that their finished products do not contain any residues of animal derived ingredients, they cannot guarantee that their process is completely free of animal derived processing aids. This due to issues of confidentially.
Addresses and contact details of Ricola’s international sales partners are listed here.